Translation - Explanation and Caution

The County of Lanark is offering text and website translation services provided by Google Translate™, a free service currently offering over 50 languages. Our goal is to assist English as a Second Language (ESL) users with a way to understand the programs, services, and information provided by Lanark County.

Please note that NOT all text may be translated correctly or be translated at all. You agree that when a translation is complete, you assume the risk of any inaccuracies, errors, and omissions therein. You agree that the County of Lanark shall NOT be held responsible or liable for any damages or losses that may result from your reliance upon or use of Google Translate™.

Council & Committees

As recently as 1997, Lanark County began operating in a two-tier system with sixteen local municipalities, 31 County Councilors, and nine standing committees. Commencing January 1, 1998, sixteen municipalities were restructured into eight municipalities, while County Council was reduced to sixteen members, and all County services were divided among the following four standing committees: Community Services, Corporate Services, Community Development, and Public Works. Other Steering and Sub-Committees are available as support to the County.

Lanark County currently employs 345 people and administers an annual gross budget of $62.5 million.

Council operates under a Committee of the Whole Structure whereby committee meetings are generally held the first and second Wednesday of each month at 5pm, with Council sitting the fourth Wednesday at 7pm. Click here for a Committee Organizational Chart of the Committee Structure.

Committee of the Whole includes: