Home || Contact Us || Maps || Search
County Council & Committees
 > County of Lanark Home Page > Local Government > County Council & Committees

Lanark County Council
As recently as 1997, Lanark County operated in a two (2) tier system with sixteen (16) local municipalities, thirty-one (31) County Councillors, and nine (9) standing committees. This changed on January 1, 1998 when sixteen (16) municipalities were restructured into eight (8), County Council was reduced to sixteen (16) members, and all County services were divided among the following four (4) standing committees: Community Services, Corporate Services, Community Development, and Public Works. There are also Steering and Sub-Committees to work through specific issues. The County currently employs 345 people and administers an annual gross budget of $62.5 million.

Council operates under a Committee of the Whole Structure whereby committee meetings are generally held the first and second Wednesday of each month at 5pm, with Council sitting the fourth Wednesday at 7pm. Click here for a Committee Organizational Chart of the Committee Structure.

Committee of the Whole includes:

Economic Development
(Formerly Community Development)

Public Works

Community Services


Corporate Services



If you wish to be a delegation at County Council or Committee of the Whole, please click here.

Sub-Committees and Working Groups:

In addition, Council has representation on the following boards and commissions:

Number of Councillors
The Council of the Corporation of the County of Lanark is composed of two (2) representatives from each of the local municipalities which form part of the County of Lanark. A member of County Council can not take his/her seat until the local municipal Council has filed a certified resolution with the County Clerk stipulating the names of the two (2) local municipal representatives and specifying the weighted vote to be allocated to each member (By-Law No. 97-13).

The County of Lanark acts as the consolidated municipal service manager on behalf of the separated Town of Smiths Falls for the provision of Social Housing, Child Care, Ontario Works and Ontario Disability Support Program (ODSP). The County also acts as the municipal services manager on behalf of the Town of Smiths Falls for the provision of Land Ambulance and Long Term Care. The Town of Smiths Falls appoints a maximum of two (2) representatives to the Lanark County Community Services Committee and Corporate Services Committee.